FIDE World Cup 2015

10 September - 5 October 2015 The FIDE World Cup in Baku was one of the strongest tournament in chess history and ended with the unbelievably dramatic and memorable final match between two Russian grandmasters - Sergey Karjakin and Peter Svidler. The former managed to reverse the negative trend after losing two games, win back in classic chess and outplay Svidler on tie-break.
Tournament format
Time control
classic, rapid, blitz
S. Karjakin, P. Svidler, V. Topalov, H. Nakamura, F. Caruana, A. Giri, Ding Liren, V. Kramnik, W. So, A. Grischuk, L. Aronian, E. Tomashevsky, D. Jakovenko, M. Vachier-Lagrave, M. Adams, B. Gelfand, S. Mamedyarov, T. Radjabov etc.
GM Evgenij Miroshnichenko, GM Emil Sutovsky, Dirk Jan ten Geuzendam
Topalov Nakamura Caruana Giri Ding Liren Kramnik So Grischuk Aronian Karjakin Svidler Tomashevsky Jakovenko Vachier-Lagrave Adams Wojtaszek Gelfand Radjabov Harikrishna Mamedyarov Wei Yi Dominguez Navara VIDEO ARCHIVE OFFICIAL WEBSITE

128 chessplayers were figting in the FIDE World Cup in Baku to qualify for the Candidates Tournament.

22 out of 25 strongest world grandmasters took part in this unprecedenty strong event: Veselin Topalov (Bulgaria, 2816), Hikaru Nakamura (USA, 2814), Fabiano Caruana (USA, 2808), Anish Giri (Netherlands, 2793), Ding Liren (China, 2782), Vladimir Kramnik (Russia, 2777), Wesley So (USA, 2773), Alexander Grischuk (Russia, 2771), Levon Aronian (Armenia, 2765), Sergey Karjakin (Russia, 2762), Evgeny Tomashevsky (Russia, 2758), Dmitry Jakovenko (Russia, 2748), Maxime Vachier-Lagrave (France, 2744), Michael Adams (England, 2742), Radoslaw Wojtaszek (Poland, 2741), Boris Gelfand (Israel, 2741), Teimour Radjabov (Azerbaijan, 2738), Pentala Harikrishna (India, 2737), Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (Azerbaijan, 2736), Wei Yi (China, 2734), Leinier Dominguez (Cuba, 2757), David Navara (Czech Republic, 2728) etc.

Total prize fund - 1 600 000 USD.

After almost a month of exacting struggle two Russian chessplayers Sergey Karjakin and Peter Svidler became the finalists and thus qualified for the Candidates Tournament. Svidler won the first two classic games, but then Karjakin showed his unreal fighting qualities and won back in two other games. After it Sergey Karjakin won the tie-break 4:2 and became the winner of the FIDE World Cup 2015.

This final will stay forever in the hearts of chess lovers!